This year marks the 50th anniversary of the declaration of martial law by the dictator Ferdinand Marcos Sr., under the regime of Ferdinand Marcos Jr. 

The Marcos restoration benefitted hugely from electoral fraud, attacks on civil liberties, and the conspiracy of the vested interests of traditional politicians. It was made possible by the consistent denial of the gross human rights violations and world-class plunder committed by the Marcos dictatorship. The Marcos years were never the golden age, but a period of massive suffering for the majority of the Filipino people. 

Marcos Jr’s counterfeit claims and outright lies likewise gained traction with the persistent mass poverty and elitist and patronage politics that have traditionally drowned out the voices of the impoverished masses. 

Thus, marking the 50th anniversary of martial law by exposing what it actually was and by underscoring its bitter lessons has become more urgent and necessary given the continuing massive disinformation campaigns and organized historical distortion that is happening today under an official government imprimatur. 

In this spirit, we are launching ML50, a public information, education, and cultural movement and nationwide network of various groups and individuals committed to correctly observing the 50th anniversary of martial law and countering all forms of historical distortions and negative historical revisionism. With the rallying calls #NeverAgain, #NeverForget, and #TuloyAngLaban, we are committed to turn the tide of disinformation that repackages the Marcos dictatorship as we boldly commemorate the Filipino people’s heroic resistance against authoritarianism. 

We stand united in ML50 not only to assert the factual historical truths about the nation’s past but also to uphold the democratic and patriotic aspirations of the Filipino people now and in the future. 




Initial Convenors of ML50

As of July 21, 2022


  • Former Sen. Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan
  • Mo. Mary John Mananzan
  • Former Sec. Judy Taguiwalo
  • Former Rep. Satur Ocampo
  • Former Rep. Erin Tanada
  • Former Rep. Neri Colmenares
  • Former ARMM Vice Gov. Haroun Alrashid
  • Alonto Lucman Jr.
  • Atty. Gwen Pimentel-Gana
  • Dr. Erlinda Senturias
  • Prof. Francis Gealogo
  • Prof. Roland Simbulan
  • Dr. Rowena R. Boquiren (Ret)
  • Bonifacio Ilagan
  • Joel Lamangan
  • Bibeth Orteza
  • Elisa Tita Lubi
  • Dr. Rolando Tolentino
  • Kris Lacaba
  • Ron de Vera
  • Kej Andres
  • Jonathan Geronimo, UST
  • David Michael San Juan, DLSU
  • Francisco Jayme Paolo Guiang, UPD
  • Ramon Guillermo, UPD


  • Bagong Alyansang Makabayan
  • Campaign Against the Return of the Marcoses and Martial Law (CARMMA)
  • Samahan ng Ex-detainees Laban sa Detensyon at Aresto (SELDA)
  • First Quarter Storm Movement (FQSM)
  • Surian sa Sining (SuSi)
  • Karapatan
  • Concerned Artists of the Philippines (CAP)
  • Kabataan Partylist
  • Ibon
  • Tanggol Kasaysayan
  • Akademya at Bayan Kontra Disimpormasyon (ABKD)
  • Tanggol Wika
  • ACT Private Schools
  • Hustisya
  • Desaparecidos
  • UP Repertory Company
  • Tag-ani Performing Arts Society
  • Human Rights and People Empowerment Center (HRPEC)
  • Altermidya
  • Sigma Kappa Pi Fraternity
  • College Editors Guild of the Philippines
  • Alyansang Tapat sa Lasalista